Wholesale Jerseys Wholesale Jerseys China NFL Jerseys China Cheap Jerseys Free Shipping Cheap NFL Jerseys China
Canada's Magazine for Financing & Leasing Executives

September 15, 2014

CFLA names Moe Danis Member of the Year 2013-2014

WHISTLER, BRITISH COLUMBIA (September 11, 2014). At its 2014 Annual Conference, CFLA Chairman Eugene Basolini announced the “CFLA Member of the Year 2013-2014”. This Award recognizes individuals, volunteers from members, who work quietly for the Association, committed to its goals.

“These volunteers are wonderful examples of those who are pleased to give back to their industry,” said the CFLA Chairman. “Their generous efforts are a significant contribution to their Association, to its members and to the industry as a whole.”

The book Unstoppable ~ The story of asset-based finance & leasing in Canada was released at the conference. The CFLA Chairman noted that “working on a book like this serves as a reminder of many things. It reminds us of the special contribution so many have made to our industry and to its success. The Member of the Year Award gives us an opportunity to recognize individuals who have made special contributions – not only to the Association but to the industry as well, not just in the last few years but over many years too.”

This year, CFLA honoured just such a person.

Eugene Basolini remarked: “we all know that capital is the lifeblood of our business. Capital has been called our inventory. Along with people it is our primary resource. Access to reliable funding at a reasonable cost is essential to making our industry work.”

Over the 1980s and 1990s, the modern asset-based finance and leasing industry grew dramatically. As the book Unstoppable reminds us, it grew through the combined effect of several global catalysts. These catalysts combined to propel our industry forward to become a significant provider of innovative financial services and products to business customers and consumers—both in Canada and worldwide.

Securitization was one of those critical catalysts. As the book points out, Moe Danis did not invent securitization, but he gets the credit for bringing the model to Canada and making it work.

The Chairman concluded “for almost 30 years, Moe has been a presence in our industry, always willing to help where he could. Always a source of wise advice that has benefited many in this room. It gives me great pleasure to present this award to Moe Danis “in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the development of the asset-based financing, equipment and vehicle leasing industry in Canada and his participation in the work of CFLA.”

Past Honorees
2012-13 Paul Zalesky (AllWest Insurance Services)
2011-12 Angela Armstrong (Prime Capital Consulting and Forest Leasing)***
2010-11 David Dalziel, Deloitte & Touche LLP
Rishi Malkani, Deloitte & Touche LLP
Loraine McIntosh, Deloitte & Touche LLP
2009-10 The volunteer instructors of Canadian Lease Education On-demand (CLEO)
Angela Armstrong (Prime Capital Consulting and Forest Leasing)***
Kevin Bowman (Equirex Leasing Corporation)
Michael Burke (Blake Cassels and Graydon LLP)
Jason Cooper (PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP)
Murray Derraugh (The Alta Group)
Michel Lévesque (Group Credit Lease)
Stuart Sherman ( Morrison Acceptance Corporation)
Judy Smiley
Hugh Swandel (The Alta Group)**
Michael Stewart (KPMG LLP)
Steve Weisz (Blake Cassels and Graydon LLP)
Robin Wilks (HKMB HUB International)
2008-09 Michael Collins (DealerTrack Canada, Inc.)
2007-08 The CFLA Education & Program Committee
Chair: Richard McAuliffe (Key Equipment Finance Canada Ltd.)
John Barraclough (Maxium Financial Services Inc.)
Gary Batchelor (Travelers Financial Corporation)
John Estey (Stonebridge Financial Corporation)
Douglas McKenzie (BAL Global Finance Canada Corporation), and
Alan Morgan (RBC Equipment Finance Group)
2006-07 Ford Motor Company of Canada Ltd. And Ford Credit Canada Ltd.
2005-06 Hugh Swandel (Swandel and Associates)**
2004-05 Peter Freill (Securcor Group of Companies)
2003-04 Mark Robinson (DaimlerChrysler Services Canada Inc.)
2002-03 Diane Sekula (CIT Financial) and Bob Westlake (GE Capital Canada)
2001-02 David Chaiton (Chaitons, LLP), Tom Hopkirk* (HKMB Capital Solutions) and Raja Singh (Pitney Bowes Global Credit Services)
2000-01 Brian Stevens (MFP Financial Services)
1996-97 Serge Mâsse (Crédit-Bail Findeq)
1995-96 Tom Simmons (Commcorp Financial Services)
1994-95 Greg Korsos (Sako Leasing Inc.)
1993-94 Tom Hopkirk* (Barclays Bank of Canada Leasing Division)

*Tom Hopkirk has been named Member of the Year twice: in 1993-94 and 2001-02.
** Hugh Swandel has been named Member of the Year twice: in 2005-2006 and 2009-2010.
*** Angela Armstrong has been named Member of the Year twice: in 2009-2010 and 2011-2012.



Home | Magazine | News |Advertising | Subscriptions | Contact Us

All material © Lloydmedia, Inc.
302-137 Main Street North
Markham, ON L3P 1Y2
905-201-6600 / 1-800-668-1838